The Hardest Thing About Giving Up Alcohol Isn’t Stopping Drinking

Posted on

Thought Catalog

Flickr / Lindsey GFlickr / Lindsey G

It took me months to write this because I wanted to do it right and most importantly, to be certain I was not to be misinterpreted. For several weeks, I have been noting thoughts and ideas in my phone and on my notepad.

As most of my friends know, I took the decision to stop drinking alcohol over two years ago. I came to that conclusion at the end of a 10-month trip around South-East Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Turkey, and Greece. I first contemplated reducing drinking when I found myself in some dry parts of Malaysia (alcohol is not illegal everywhere in Malaysia, only in some specific parts of the country where local rules are sticker than the national standards). I kind of forgot about it when I continued my journey and traveled in Sri Lanka and India. I gave it some thought when I…

View original post 1,667 more words

Leave a Reply

